When you create a shared folder, the Enable Recycle Bin is ticked by default. When this option is enabled, a subfolder is created to store deleted files. You can retrieve deleted files from the Recycle Bin, or remove files permanently.
Should I enable Recycle Bin on Synology NAS?
Purpose. For recovering deleted files on your Synology NAS, we recommend using the Recycle Bin option that can be enabled for each shared folder. There are also other backup solutions or third-party software that you can use in place of or in combination with Recycle Bin.
Do all deleted files go to the Recycle Bin?
Usually, the deleted files/folders will stay in the Recycle Bin and come in handy when you need to recover them. However, if you accidentally empty your Recycle Bin and cause the items to be deleted permanently, then they will be gone forever and get nowhere to be found.
How are deleted files stored in Recycle Bin?
Files that are moved to the Recycle Bin (on Microsoft Windows) or Trash (on macOS) stay in those folders until the user empties them. Once they have been deleted from those folders, they are still located in the hard drive and can be retrieved with the right software.
How do I free up space on Synology?
- Reduce the number of versioning or disable version control.
- Clean up the recycle bin.
- Delete or disable infrequently accessed files or folder.
- Uninstall Synology Drive Server.
How do I recover files from Synology?
Recover deleted files on Synology NAS
- Launch File Station and go to the shared folder with the Recycle Bin feature enabled.
- Go to the #recycle subfolder.
- Right-click on the file or folder to be retrieved.
- Go to Copy to/Move to… and select Move to… to restore the deleted file to the desired destination.
Where do permanently deleted files go?
When you delete a file or folder, it goes into the Recycle bin, where you have a chance to restore it.
What happens when you delete a file?
When you delete a file from a standard desktop computer, the file first gets moved to the “recycle bin” or the “trash,” which means only that you’ve placed the intact data in a new directory. You erase the file when you empty your recycle bin. But even then, much of the information remains on the hard disk.
What is Synology scrubbing?
Data scrubbing is a data maintenance feature that inspects storage pools. The following two types of data scrubbing will be performed sequentially: File system scrubbing: This function checks the volumes in the Btrfs file system.
How do I delete all data from Synology?
Steps to run a Secure Erase:
- In DSM, go to Storage Manager > HDD/SSD.
- Select a drive and click Action > Secure Erase.
How do I check my Synology storage?
Go to DSM > Storage Manager > Storage, click the ellipsis at the right side of the volume where Synology Drive Server is located, and select Usage Details. In the pop-up window, you will see the usage details of Synology Drive Server.